Hello Heart. Meet Wrecking Ball.

What matters is not wealth, or status, or power or fame– but rather how well we have loved, and what small part we have played in making the lives of other people better.
~Barack Obama

I’m not sure if you’ve heard, but it’s mighty cold down here in Arkansas. Snow is everywhere and frankly, we aren’t used to it and it freaks us out a bit. Usually during this weather, the I think, “I hope UCA closes so I don’t have to go to class,” but because of some new friends, new part-time job and new outlook, I asked, “What about those that don’t have homes or heat?”

Unknowingly, this question would wreck my world. It would break my heart. It would fill me with hope and love. It would become a heavy burden on my soul. It would become the subject of many future prayers.

I spent time volunteering with Canvas Community Church in Little Rock this week. They opened up a warming center/ shelter and the first night I was there, after less than an hour, on my way outside, a man stopped me, laying on the concrete floor with a thin blanket, he simply said, “Thank you” with longing in his eyes and a gratefulness I had never seen before.

I spent the next few days doing everything I could to know these people; struggles, fears, goals… their life. I have been blindsided by love, grace and compassion and at the same time, my heart breaks for these strangers, yet brothers and sisters. Never before have I felt more eye-to-eye with my Savior.

At this moment, in this man’s thankful eyes, I saw my Christ. I haven’t stopped seeing Him in the eyes of those around me since. It has made me ask, “What does Jesus look like?”

Does He look like me, or does He look like someone who I need to help? Those are the only options. If He looks like neither, I’m doing something wrong.

Today, amid the tears falling from my eyes as I type these words, I know that I’m blessed in unimaginable ways, and I only know that because of two simple words: Thank You.

No, sir, thank YOU.

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,  I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.”
~Matthew 25:35-36

6 thoughts on “Hello Heart. Meet Wrecking Ball.

  1. Kevin says:

    While it is sad that there are people here that do not have heat or shelter in this cold, I’d much rather have this than what those poor people in Haiti are having to deal with.

    There are enough resources available here to care for the small number of those that have these issues in central Ar.

    • There are enough resources because people like my friends have stood up and made those resources available. My buddy Patrick woke up in a few feet of snow Monday morning by the railroad tracks. I’m SO glad to be a part of said resources that have been made available to people like him. Unfortunately, not everyone in central Arkansas found a warm place to sleep this week.

      “Never worry about numbers. Help one person at a time and always start with the person nearest you.” ~Mother Teresa

  2. Wow my friend. Wow.

    Praying for your heart to find a safe place to rest – and for Christ to continue to reveal Himself to you through the least of these. I love you – and Austin misses you. 🙂

Comments are closed.